LATT Table Design

For my son’s 1st birthday, I wanted to get him a little table and chairs set since he seemed to enjoy a friend’s so much.

Here is what the LATT Table normally looks like from IKEA – http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/50178411/#

Since the wood is unstained and unpainted, I decided to take the opportunity to come up with a fun paint design.  A friend showed me this on Pinterest: http://beeinteriors.blogspot.com/2011/08/school-desk-reveal.html

I LOVED the painted stripes so I adapted it for my table.  For mine, I wanted a base color instead of the wood, so I painted the pieces light blue.

I had to creatively hang the pieces to dry in stages while painting-

Next, I taped off the pieces with delicate surface painters’ tape in the design I wanted.  I was careful to line up the pieces in the manner that they would be positioned once assembled.  I wanted the pattern to run through the chairs and table uniformly.

Next up, time to paint!  I used dark red for most of the stripes and did one dark brown stripe.  All of this paint was left over from other projects I did around the house.  Since it was finished with polyurethane, I wasn’t as worried about having a high gloss paint finish and was able to just use whatever I had.

Note – You WILL have to do touch ups after you remove the tape from pretty much any project like this, clearly, as you can see below, mine was no exception.

PRE-TOUCH UP PICS:

OK, time for touch-ups!  After everything dried, I taped the edges on the stripes, used a very small paint brush for detail work, and painted with my blue base color to polish the edges better.  It worked great!  Then I painted the pieces with a coat of polyurethane (I did 2 coats on the stripe sections) to make everything more durable for the abuse it would likely take from my son.  Then- I assembled it all based on the instructions!

FINAL PRODUCT:

The verdict?  My son LOVES it – it has accommodated his needs perfectly!

Leave a Reply

