T-Shirt Quilt

In my attempt at gaining more sewing experience, I decided to tackle making a t-shirt quilt with some of the old t-shirts that my husband and I didn’t want to part with.  I’ve never quilted before, but I’m still fairly happy with how this turned out.

Since this is my first quilt, made with faded old t-shirts, I knew there would be plenty of imperfections.  I used cozy fabrics like fleece, flannel, and, obviously, t-shirt jersey.  I made sure that everything I used was 100% cotton.  Also, I had an old robe that was made out of seersucker material that was a perfect addition to the other fabrics I had picked out.

Here is what I did:

* Some prefer to add interfacing to the t-shirt material to make it easier to work with.  In hindsight, I think this is a good idea if you are interested it adding that step.  It isn’t necessary, especially for a more “casual” quilt, but I do think it could make things a little easier.

1 – Cut t-shirts and other fabric materials into 10 1/2 inch x 10 1/2 inch squares.  Finished squares are 10×10 and there needed to be 1/4 inch seam allowance, hence the 10 1/2 x 10 1/2 squares.

2 – Lay out the squares for the quilt top how I wanted them to appear in the finished product.

3 – Stitch the pieces together – I highly recommend chain piecing for this.

4 – At this point, I attached the quilt back to the front with basting spray.  I didn’t use any batting for a middle layer because I used thick fleece for the back.

5 – I tied the layers together with white embroidery thread.

6 – Finally, I did the binding with flannel.

FINISHED FRONT

FINISHED BACK

CLOSE UP

2 thoughts on “T-Shirt Quilt

Leave a Reply

